Listen, My Secret Fetish

Mon 13 Apr 2009
Tue 14 Apr 2009


‘Listen, My Secret Fetish’ is a collection of tantalizing sound pieces for clarinet each created by a different composer and performed by Richard Haynes.

Each work corresponds to a different fetish, but of course these remain secret until you see the show.

Breath Control, by David Young, employs constant circular breathing and dramatic performative elements.

Interference, by Richard Barrett, is an oracular piece for voice, bass drum and contrabass clarinet, controlled by an incomprehensible external force.

The sadness of detail, by Chris Dench, is full of intricate melodies that evoke a wild, animalistic atmosphere.

Press Release, by David Lang, is a masculine, driving work for bass clarinet that doesn’t let up until its final minute of glassy brilliance.


At only 25, Haynes has already made a name for himself as freelance musician and performance artist and has performed with many highly regarded musicians and dancers in the USA, Europe, Asia, Australia and New Zealand. His work concentrates on the intersection between music, performability, theatre and poetry.


Breath Control by David Young
Interference by Richard Barrett
The Sadness Of Detail by Chris Dench
Press Release by David Lang

Original production supported by Aphids Residencies & Mentoring Scheme, Midsumma and the City of Stonnington

Dramaturgy by Margaret Cameron
Sound design by Michael Hewes

Part of Triple Bill
with Carla Esperanza Tommsini and Harminder Singh Judge