Clarion Call

Byron J Scullin + Supple Fox (Australia)

Thu 25 Oct 2018, Fri 26 Oct 2018, Sat 27 Oct 2018, Sun 28 Oct 2018, Mon 29 Oct 2018, Tue 30 Oct 2018, Wed 31 Oct 2018, Thu 01 Nov 2018, Fri 02 Nov 2018, Sat 03 Nov 2018, Sun 04 Nov 2018

Ipswich Waterfront

Daily at Sunset // 11 minutes // FREE


Photo by Thomas Hyland

World Premiere


Over the 11 days of SPILL Festival, this large-scale outdoor sonic artwork will ring out from Ipswich Waterfront into the town’s public spaces at dusk.


The voices of women and girls call to the setting sun in daily incantations, broadcast with audio technology employed for emergency and control, repurposed as a mechanism for public ritual.

Devised by Melbourne based artists Byron J. Scullin, Hannah Fox and Thomas Supple, and part of 14–18 NOW, the UK’s arts programme for the First World War centenary, Clarion Call stands as an ephemeral monument to the aftermath of wars past, present and future. But instead of unifying us in grief, a composition of reimagined melodies provide a moment in time for a community to come together in hope and reflection.


Co-commissioned by 14-18 NOW and Pacitti Company for the SPILL Festival of Performance. Developed with the support of Dark Mofo Festival, Tasmania

Visit 14-18 NOW Website